Stated Meeting, January 17th, 1873.

Present, 16 members.

Vice-President, Prof. J. C. Cresson, in the Chair.

Letters of envoy were received from the Societies at Bordeaux and Königsberg, the latter requesting the completion of its suite of Transactions. Referred to the Publication Committee with power to act.

Letters of acknowledgment were received from the R. Saxon Society (XIV, iii, 87), the R. Academy at Amsterdam (XIV, i, ii, 48, 85), and the University of New York (XIV, iii, 87, 88).

Donations for the Library were received from the P. O. G. at Königsberg; the Swedish Geological Survey; the German Geological Society; the N. H. Society at Nuremberg; the Geological Committee of Italy; the R. Belgic Academy; the Geographical Society and Revue Politique at Paris; the Society of P. and N. S. at Bordeaux; the Chemical and R. Asiatic Societies in London; the N. China Branch R. A. S. at Shanghai; London Nature; Dr. Campbell Morfit, F. C. S.; the R. Geographical Society at Cornwall; the Glasgow Philosophical Society; Essex Institute; Boston S. N. H.; Cambridge M. C. Zoology; Mr. John B. Perry; American Chemist, Penn. Hist. Society; A. J. Pharmacy; A. J. Med. Sciences; Med. News and Library; Dr. H. Hartshorne; Penn Monthly; Washington Philosophical Society; and the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences.

Mr. Cope offered for publication in the Proceedings a communication entitled Contribution to the Ichthyology of Alaska.

Mr. Lesley was chosen Librarian for the ensuing year.

The following Standing Committees were chosen for the ensuing year:—

Committee on Finance—Mr. Fraley, Mr. E. K. Price, Mr. Marsh.

Committee on Publication—Mr. Trego, Dr. Carson, Mr. Wm. Tilghman, Mr. H. C. Baird, Dr. C. M. Cresson.

Committee on Hall—General Tyndale, Mr. Hopper, Mr. Roberts.

Committee on Library—Dr. Coates, Mr. E. K. Price, Dr. Carson, Dr. Krauth, Mr. Whitmau.

The list of surviving members was read and corrected.

Pending nominations Nos. 703 to 714 were read and the claims of the nominees presented.

When the ballot-boxes were scrutinized by the Presiding Officer the following persons were declared duly elected members of the Society:—

Henry W. Ackland, M.D., LL.D., of Oxford, England. George Burrows, M.D., D.C.L., F.R.S., No. 18 Cavendish Square, London, W.

James E. Oliver, Professor of Mathematics in Cornell University, Ithaca, N. Y.

Robert Frazer, C. E., President of the Camden and Atlantic R. R., Camden, N. J.

Thomas Clark, C. E., 1009 Clinton street, Philadelphia.

Peter F. Rothermel, Artist, Philadelphia.

Joseph Zentmayer, Philosophical Instrument Maker, Philadelphia.

A. H. Spofford, Librarian of Congress, Washington, D. C.

C. Percy La Roche, M.D., Philadelphia.

Henry Pemberton, Chemist, Alleghany City, Pa.

And the meeting was adjourned.